Newlin Law Areas of Practice
What are Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability Coverage in the State of Florida?
Like most states, Florida has coverage requirements concerning auto insurance. Unlike many states, this coverage is minimal. In the State of Florida, drivers are required to carry $10,000 is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability Coverage (PDL). These coverages are described in great detail on this page.
Essentially, these coverages pay for a portion of the driver’s medical bills in any accident regardless of fault, and provides $10,000 to repair or replace damage caused to property in the event the accident was the driver’s fault.
BE CAREFUL! Florida driver’s who claim they have “full coverage” often only have the above mandatory coverage. You, as a driver, may not be as protected as you think. When you contact my office, we will meet with you personally, at no charge, to go through every aspect of your insurance policy. As a courtesy we offer to our clients a comprehensive review of your policy and recommendations on how to better protect yourself.