FAQ's: Your Questions Answered
Motorcycle Accident FAQs
Although Florida requires a minimum amount of insurance coverage for automobile drivers, there is no mandate for motorcyclists. Florida requires auto drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection, also known as PIP. Unfortunately, if you own a car and a motorcycle, only the car is covered under the auto PIP policy. We highly recommend all motorcycle owners carry some kind of Personal Injury Protection policy on their bikes. Otherwise, if you’re involved in a motorcycle accident and it’s determined the accident is your fault, you are wholly responsible for all damages.
Regardless of which driver is at fault in an accident, PIP coverage will pay up to $10,000 towards the driver’s medical bills and repair or replace the driver’s property in the event that the accident was caused by the driver. Florida’s “no fault” laws do not apply to motorcycles. Motorcycle drivers have to reach out to the other driver’s insurance company to get compensated for their injuries, lost income and damage to their motorcycle. Unlike drivers of 4-wheeled vehicles, motorcycle drivers are not required to prove the severity of their injuries. Because Florida hosts a large number of uninsured motorists (the second highest percentage in the nation), we advise that motorcycle drivers carry uninsured motorist coverage.
You should have enough coverage to pay for injuries and damages if you’re involved in an accident. Florida’s minimum requirements for automobile drivers make a great recommendation for motorcycle drivers:
If you were involved in a motorcycle accident, Contact Dan Newlin Injury Attorneys immediately and we will set up a consultation free of charge to discuss ways to compensate you for your injuries and losses. Call Dan Newlin Injury attorneys at 800-257-1822 and we’ll make sure you’re covered.