FAQ's: Your Questions Answered
Tractor Trailer Accident FAQs
There are a lot of frequently asked questions pertaining to Personal Injury Protection or PIP. In large part, this is because the automobile insurance companies benefit from keeping their clients and the general public in the dark about what exactly PIP covers. The most important thing to know about PIP coverage is that all drivers are required to have a minimum PIP policy of $10,000. Whether or not you have heard of PIP, if you are a driver in Florida and you are insured, you have PIP benefits.
It is mandated by Florida Statute 627.736(1). Under the PIP Statute, an auto insurance provider is required to provide their insured with a minimum of coverage should they be involved in an auto accident. The minimum coverage is $10,000 per person, and it will cover or reimburse the following expenses:
1. 80% of any and all medical bills relating to injuries sustained
2. 60% of income lost
3. 80% of cost prescriptions for any injury as a result of accident
4. Mileage reimbursement for trips to and from medical facility
Following an accident, every person involved in the accident will report to their own insurance company to recoup PIP benefits. If one of the persons involved in the accident does not have automobile insurance they can still benefit from PIP. You can qualify for PIP through other means, such as a relative who has an automobile policy. Also, if the car involved in the accident is insured, PIP benefits can cover an uninsured passenger.
If you are unsure about your PIP status following an accident, or you have general questions about PIP, Call Dan Newlin Injury Attorneys at 800-257-1822
At Dan Newlin Injury Attorneys, we take pride in making ourselves accessible to the general public. Car insurance is difficult to navigate, but we are here to help.
REMEMBER! NOT HAVING PIP DOES NOT STOP YOU FROM SEEKING IMMEDIATE MEDICAL ATTENTION OR PURSUING A CLAIM AGAINST AN AT-FAULT DRIVER